I've pretty much came to the conclusion that trying to understand the male and female species is like trying to understand advanced quantum physics. I mean seriously. Why is being verbal with someone so hard for people?
Granted, I used to be shy as fuck. I didn't speak up when I should have and it landed me in a very unhappy relationship. Twice. It also left me feeling taken advantage of by friends and once I got tired of it, well fuck that friendship ended shortly after.
I guess now, my patience is shorter and I've learned how to cut my losses. No matter how much you care for someone (boyfriend, girlfriend or friend). If you honestly don't think the relationship is going to work, more than likely you're right. Call me jaded or whatever but if you feel like you're putting yourself out there more than the other person, then is that really fair to you? If you see little red flags that you learned to recognize waving in your face do you give the relationship the axe or the benefit of the doubt?
I've gone out of my way more than once for friends and significant others who have never done the same for me. I've also been lucky to find those that have reciprocated the actions. For the most part however I've ended up feeling incredibly drained. I've watched friends I care about go through the same thing, same pattern and also winding up hurt and in the same damn position I was in.
I guess the main question is...if you're doubting a relationship is that a red flag? If you feel like you're putting yourself out there more - especially emotionally is it worth the risk?
If it's one thing I've learned from all of my relationships (friends and significant others) no matter how much you love a person; it's best to count your blessings and cut your losses.